Looking Back…

By: kayorsonsweaver

Dec 16 2011

Tags: , , , ,

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/5.6
Focal Length:28mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/640 sec
Camera:Canon EOS REBEL T2i

We’re now in the final days of 2011 and that means its time for the obligatory reflection on the past year. So how has 16:25 worked out, what have I learned?

For starters, I’m super glad that I decided to finally do a 365 project. The daily practice has been good for me both as an artist and as a person, requiring discipline and attention. Yes I missed days, sometimes because taking a photo at 16:25 was difficult or impossible, sometimes because I just wasn’t in the mood. The important thing however is that I didn’t let those lapses halt the entire project. I picked up again the next day (or couple of days) and made up for the missed photo(s). Nobody’s perfect, but you get closer to perfect by not quitting, and I never quit.

Shooting a photo every day at a specific time was an interesting experiment from a variety of perspectives. For one I started to get a mental image of my habits, noticing where I was and what I was doing at 16:25 day after day after day. I realized that I spent a lot of time munching away on my computer in my room. As a result I had to continue rediscovering my immediate surroundings. Over the course of the past year I’ve really begun to see more things to photograph beyond the obvious and different ways to photograph those things, near, far, in focus, out of focus. In the past month I started shooting in Full Manual mode, really pushing my mastery of exposure. Of course there were also days where I just didn’t care and didn’t put any real effort in, just snapping something and going back to whatever I was doing before.

Those “unimaginative” images forced me to get creative in post-production. Sometimes a dull or boring photo was hiding something intriguing if I just moved the sliders in Lightroom to the right choreography. Having to do this every day I started experimenting with different tools and different looks. I feel like I have a better feel for the whole thing and all the different possibilities thanks to all that work. Maybe I’m even defining something of a style.

Another unintended consequence. I started to have an internal clock that would begin nudging me to look for interesting things to shoot around 16:00. My camera has also rarely left my side this past year – I’m always ready.

16:25 was restrictive for sure. I shot lots of photos outside of that magical minute , many of which I really like. After the last 16:25 of 2011 I think I may continue posting images from the past year that I took outside of 16:25.

Finally I’ve ended up with a rather unique diary of sorts. I can look back and be reminded of what was going on any particular day by seeing a photograph. I may print it out as a little book. We’ll see.

So what’s next?

I feel like 16:25 was beneficial to me and my development as an artist so I’ve decided that I’m doing another 365 project for 2012. Looking at 16:25 I noticed a distinct lack of human subjects. I traditionally shy away from shooting people because, quite simply I’m a bit shy/intimidated by people, and yet people are some of my favourite subjects to photograph. I enjoy self-portraiture (because I always do what I say) and on the occasions I’ve photographed circus artists, bands, models and athletes I’ve had a great time and produced some great images, so that’s what I’m going to do this time out.

In 2012 I will be taking a picture of a new person(s) every day. It’ll force me to get over my shyness, to meet new people and practice a kind of photography that I love but don’t do enough of. In some ways this will be more difficult than 16:25, but I’ll have more flexibility as to when and where I shoot.

365 Souls

Thanks for being a great audience and joining me on this journey over the past year. I hope you’ll join me again in 2012.

Leave a Reply

